Agenda

The virtual conference plans to have 3 keynote speeches, 2 thematic plenary sessions, 1 round-table discussion, 18 panels for individual paper or similar presentations, and 1 online exhibition. Additionally, a round-table discussion to be hosted two weeks prior to the conference where experts and professionals with a focus on women’s engagements with the Covid-19 pandemic from Northern Europe, Japan and Taiwan will be able to discuss and exchange ideas on policy practices and experiences with local government and private institutions. The activities are open for both the public and school teachers to attend.

 

 

10/28 (Thursday)議程

Time

Program

Taipei

14:00–14:30

Copenhagen

08:00–08:30

Test of Webex for paper presenters

線上報到並測試視訊連結

Taipei

14:30–14:50

Copenhagen

08:30–08:50

Opening 開幕致詞

Gender Equality in Taiwan Short Film 臺灣性平影片播放

Dr. Shu-hsien Tseng 國家圖書館曾淑賢館長

Director General, National Central Library

Director, Center for Chinese Studies

Prof. Duncan McCargo

Director, Nordic Institute of Asian Studies (NIAS)

University of Copenhagen

Prof. Chang-ling Huang 台灣女性學學會黃長玲理事長

Professor, Department of Political Science, National Taiwan University

      President, Taiwanese Feminist Scholars Association

Taipei

14:50–15:20

Copenhagen

08:50–09:20

Keynote Speech (1) 專題演講 (1)

Moderator: Hsiu-hua Shen, National Tsing Hua University

Prof. Pei-chia Lan 藍佩嘉特聘教授

Distinguished Professor of Sociology

Director of Global Asia Research Center, National Taiwan University

Topic: Raising Global Families: A Relational Analysis of Fatherhoods in Migration Contexts

Taipei

15:20–15:30

Copenhagen

09:20–09:30

Tea Time 休息時間

Taipei

15:30–17:00

Copenhagen

09:30–11:00

Session A1 論文發表

Session B1 論文發表

Panel: The Biopolitics of Masculinities: Becoming a Good Citizen in Nordic and Chinese Societies (cancelled)

※Sebastian Mohr, Karlstad University

    Ting-fai Yu, Monash University

    Yuk-ying Wong, Chinese University of Hong Kong

 

Panel: Women in Public: Gender, Politics and Society in Chinese History, Seventh to Twentieth Centuries

※Moderator: Miaw-fen Lu, Academia Sinica

    Zhan Beibei, Yuelu Academy

    Peter Ditmanson, Yuelu Academy

    Jo-lan Yi, National Taiwan University

    Rachel Hui-chi Hsu, National Chengchi  University

Taipei

17:00–18:20

Copenhagen

11:00–12:20

Session A2 論文發表

Session B2 論文發表

Panel: Transversal Biopolitics: Evolution, Assemblage, and Healing

※Chun-Mei Chuang, Soochow University

    Yin Wang, National Cheng Kung University

    Catherine Ju-yu Cheng, Feng Chia University

Panel: Premodern Royal Ladies in Japan and Beyond: Premier Royal Ladies (Nyoin) in Medieval Times, 1000-1300

※Sachiko Kawai, National Museum of Japanese History

    Hanayo Noguchi, Kyoai Gakuen University

    Akemi Banse, Osaka University

※Moderator

 

10/29(Friday)議程

Time

Program

Taipei

13:30–14:00

Copenhagen

07:30–08:00

Test of Webex for paper presenters

線上報到並測試視訊連結

Taipei

14:00–15:20

Copenhagen

08:00–09:20

Round-table Discussion 圓桌論壇

Feminist Alliances, Situated Knowledges and Intellectual Empowerment: A Discussion with Feminist Readings Network

※Shiau-ting Hung, University of Sorbonne Nouvelle-Paris 3

    Kamila Bouchemal, University of Paris 8

    Heta Rundgren, University of Helsinki

Taipei

15:20–15:30

Copenhagen

09:20–09:30

Tea Time 休息時間

Taipei

15:30–16:50

Copenhagen

09:30–10:50

Session A3 論文發表

Session B3 論文發表

Panel: Feminine Struggles: Writing as a Weapon to Fight in the Invisible War

※Huei-ling Chen, University of Sydney

    Yijia Du, University of Sydney

    

Policing and Inhabiting Marginal Spaces

※Moderator: Ling-fang Cheng, Kaohsiung Medical University

1. “No Land for Rural Women?: Socialist Rule of Law and the Quandary of Nongjianü”

    Yajiao Li, Ochanomizu University

2. “The Colonial Office’s Discussions on the Chinese Clandestine Prostitution in Singapore in the 1930s”

    Wei-an Yang, Fujen University

3. “Postmodern Midwives: Displacing Rebozo into a Danish Practice through Hybrid Maternity Care”

    Li-wen Shih, Taipei Medical University

Taipei

16:50–18:10

Copenhagen

10:50–12:10

Session A4 論文發表

Session B4 論文發表

Memory, Knowledge, and Activism

1. “Female Elders as Story Tellers for Knowledge Production in Museum Interpretation and Communication”

    ※Wan-chen Liu, Tainan National University of the Arts

2. “Bridging the Gap between Feminist Activism and Academia through Libraries and Archives: the Example of KvinnSam – Swedish National Resource Library for Gender Studies”

    Sanna Hellgren, KvinnSam, Humanities Libraries at Gothenburg University library

3. “‘A Room for Our Own’: Queer Memories and Feelings in Archival Practices”

    Camila Borges Freitas, University of Gothenburg

Mediating Feminist Compositions

※Moderator: Nai-fei (Fifi) Ding, National Central University

1. “Experiments in a Conservative Vein: Women Rewritings of Xiqu in Taiwan and Mainland China”

    Josh Stenberg, University of Sydney

2. “A Reflection on the Reception of Marguerite Duras’s works in Taiwan”

    Shih-hsien Huang, Chinese Culture University

3. “Composing as Feminist Practice: A Self-examination of The Everyday Lullaby: Unfurlings and Solidarities

    Elizabeth Ditmanson

Taipei

18:10–19:30

Copenhagen

12:10–13:30

Dinner Time 晚餐時間

Taipei

19:30–20:10

Johannesburg

13:30–14:10

Helsinki

14:30–15:10

Copenhagen

13:30–14:10

Plenary Session Speech (1) Geopolitics of Gender, Sexuality, and Kinship

全體會議(1) 性別地緣政治、性與親密關係

Moderator: Nai-fei (Fifi) Ding, National Central University

Lyn Ossome

Associate Professor, Department of Political Studies, Witwatersrand University

Topic: Rethinking Intersectionality through the Colonial Modern Gendered Subject

Elina Oinas

Professor, Swedish School of Social Science, University of Helsinki

Topic: Privileged Hyper-awareness and Paralysis:  Feminist Orientations around Whiteness in North of Europe

Taipei

20:10–20:20

Copenhagen

14:10–14:20

Tea Time 休息時間

Taipei

20:20–21:40

Copenhagen

14:20–15:40

Session A5 論文發表

Session B5 論文發表

Women in Wars and Revolutions

※Moderator: Fang-chih Yang, National Cheng Kung University

1.  “To Remember Everything, to Remember Always: The Writing of Trauma as Working-Through in Maria Rosa Henson’s Comfort Woman: Slave of Destiny”

    Catherine Lianza A. Aquino, Erasmus Mundus IntMast CLMC, University of Glasgow

Mapping Feminist Knowledge Production and Translation

1. “Mapping the Public Woman in the Writings of Priscilla Wakefield and Her Protofeminist Contemporaries”

    ※Yi-cheng Weng, National Taiwan University

2. “Playing with Tarot: Technology of Care for Feminist Knowledge Production”

    Hong-An (Ann) Wu, University of Texas at Dallas

3. “When Vaginas Speak Chinese: Mobilizing Feminism Through Translation”

    Wangtaolue Guo, University of Alberta

※Moderator

 

10/30(Saturday)議程

Time

Program

Taipei

14:00–14:30

Copenhagen

08:00–08:30

Test of Webex for paper presenters

線上報到並測試視訊連結

Taipei

14:30–15:00

Sydney

17:30–18:00

Copenhagen

08:30–09:00

Keynote Speech (2) 專題演講 (2)

※Moderator: Ling-fang Cheng, Kaohsiung Medical University

Prof. Emerita Raewyn Connell

University of Sydney

Topic: Feminism Going Global, from the South

Taipei

15:00–15:10

Copenhagen

09:00–09:10

Tea Time 休息時間

Taipei

15:10–16:30

Copenhagen

09:10–10:30

Session A6 論文發表

Session B6 論文發表

Work, Empowerment, and Violence

1. “Working Conditions as a Factor Empowering Women to Earn (more) in the GPG Context”

    ※Aurelija Novelskaitė, Institute of Sociology at Lithuanian Centre for Social Sciences, Lithuania

    Raminta Pučėtaitė, Rasa Pušinaitė-Gelgotė, Vilnius University Kaunas Faculty, Lithuania

2. “Analyzing Women’s Sexuality from Sexy Selfies on the Internet: The Case of Sex Board on Dcard”

    Yi-ching Huang, National Taiwan University

3. “The Silence Breaker: Exploring the Process of Women Deciding to Speak Out Against Gender-based Violence from Experiencing Sexual Assault to Self-disclosure on Social Networking Sites”

    Hsin Lee, Shuchu Chao, National Changhua University of Education

Trans/Gender, LGBT, Family and State

1. “Research on the Gender Role of LGBT Activist in Mainland China”

    Siyuan Dong, East China University of Political Science and Law

2. “Dress and Gender Congruence among Male-to-female Transgender”

    ※Chui-chu Yang, National Taiwan Normal University

3. “China’s Leftover Women: Re-evaluating the Representation of ‘Leftover’ Women (Sheng Nu: 剩女) in Chinese Society”

    Xinyi Zhu, Zhejiang Wanli University

Taipei

16:30–18:00

Copenhagen

10:30–12:00

Session A7 論文發表

Session B7 論文發表

Gender Discourses on Embodied Experiences

1. “Bodies, Menstruation Blood and Witchcraft: The Feminist Art Scene in Gothenburg in the 70s and Early 80s”

    ※Eva Zetterman, University of Gothenburg

2. “The Gender Controversy and the Metaphysics of Gender”

    Chun-ping Yen, Institute of European and American Studies, Academia Sinica

3. “Women, Body and Discourse: A Case on Wen Hui’s Theatres and Documentaries”

    Xuying Yu, Hong Kong Metropolitan University

Transnational Networks of Supports and Consumptions

1. “The Mobility of Elders and Family-based Care: A Case Study of Chinese Migrant (grand) Parents”

    ※Yan Zhao, Nord University

        Yu Huang, Vanke Meisha Academy

2. “Exploring the Transnational Chinese Network of Daigou: Customized Consumption, Transnational Mobility, and Gendered Modernity”

    Meina Jia Sandal, Aarhus University

3. “How Chinese Adolescents Talk about Gender and Sexuality within the Global World”

    Xiying Wang, Beijing Normal University

4. “How Do We Grow Up? The Civilization and the Discrimination of Female Bodies”

    Chia-chun Chang, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University

    Yi-chieh Wu, Shih Chien University

Taipei

18:00–19:30

Copenhagen

12:00–13:30

Dinner Time 晚餐時間

Taipei

19:30–20:10

Ann Arbor

07:30–08:10

Copenhagen

13:30-14:10

Plenary Session Speech (2) Gender and Populism

全體會議(2) 性別與民粹主義

Moderator: Dusica Ristivojevic, University of Helsinki

Zheng Wang

Prof. Emeritus, History and Women's and Gender Studies, University of Michigan

Topic: Feminist Positioning in a Time of Shifting Geopolitical Terrains

Katja Kahlina

Principal Investigator, Sexuality and Democracy Project, University of Helsinki

Topic: Populism and Anti-gender Mobilization in Europe

Taipei

20:10–20:20

Copenhagen

14:10–14:20

Tea Time 休息時間

Taipei

20:20–22:00

Copenhagen

14:20–16:00

Session A8 論文發表

Session B8 論文發表

Panel: Negotiating Post/socialism: Women and Feminism in post-1949 China

    Dusica Ristivojevic, University of Helsinki

    ※Liu Xi, Xi'an Jiaotong-Liverpool University

    Fan Yang, University of Amsterdam

    Yunyun Zhou, University of Oxford

    Duan Jiling, Indiana University Bloomington

    Discussant: Zheng Wang, University of Michigan

Gender in Chinese Literature

1. “The Qing Novel Jinghua yuan 鏡花緣–A Proto-feminist Voice or Just Ventilations of a Male Regard?”

    ※Bettina Englerth, Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich

2. “A Lost Tradition of Premodern Chinese Women’s Painting-Poetry (tihua shi 題畫詩): A Case Study of Xi Peilan’s 席佩蘭 (1760–after 1829) Painting-Poems in the Mid-Qing“

    Yang Zhao, University of California Santa Barbara

3. “Shame and Shyness in the 30s Chinese Literature: The Construction of Gender”

    Yujia Li, National University of Singapore

※Moderator

 

10/31(Sunday)議程

Time

Program

Taipei

14:30–15:00

Copenhagen

07:30–08:00

Test of Webex for paper presenters

線上報到並測試視訊連結

Taipei

15:00–15:30

Barcelona

08:00–08:30

Copenhagen

08:00–08:30

Keynote Speech (3) 專題演講 (3)

Moderator: Shu-hsien Tseng, National Central Library

Ms. Glòria Pérez-Salmerón

Diputació de Barcelona

Stichting IFLA Global Libraries Foundation Chair

Topic: Sustainable Libraries leaving no one behind

Taipei

15:30–15:40

Copenhagen

08:30–08:40

Tea Time 休息時間

Taipei

15:40–17:10

Copenhagen

08:40–10:10

Session A9 論文發表

Session B9 論文發表

Narrating and Situating LGBT/Gender in Education

※Moderator: Shu-ching Lee, National Chengchi University

1. “Promoting Gender Equality in Higher Education Institutions: An Agenda for Feminist Institutionalism in Context of Neoliberalist Reforms”

    Natalija Mažeikienė, Vytautas Magnus University, Lithuania

    Aurelija Novelskaitė, Daiva Skučienė, Vilnius University, Lithuania

    Sybille Reidl, Joanneum Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH, Austria

2. “Struggle in the Journey of Gender: a Narrative Research of a LGBTQ Marginalized Teacher”

    Ting-yen Ho, Shih Hsin University, Pin-ru Su, National Chengchi University

3. “Body, Queer and Sexuality-Assemblages: A Self-narrative of a Taiwanese Non-binary Teacher by Adopting New Materialism”

    Pin-ru Su, National Chengchi University

4. “Attitudes toward Teaching LGBT-inclusive Curriculum among Elementary Teachers in Taiwan”

    Te-sheng Chang, National Dong Hwa University

Women and Political Activism

※Moderator: Chang-ling Huang, National Taiwan University

1. “Vulnerability and Resilience of Feminist Activists in Authoritarian China”

    Hsiu-hua Shen, National Tsing Hua University

2. “Redefining Critical Intellectuals through Gendered and Alternative Spaces: The Life History of Ai Xiaoming”

    Jinyan Zeng, Lund University

3. “‘They say they only care about WOMEN!’: The Emergence of Division among Politicised Women Revealed in the Course of Forming Women’s Party in South Korea”

    Euisol Jeong, Centre for Women's Studies at the University of York

4. “Taking Discursive Power Seriously: Conceptualizing State Feminism in China”

    Junyi Cai, University of Sydney

Taipei

17:10–17:30

Copenhagen

10:10-10:30

Closing Remark

閉幕式

※Moderator

 

 

Pin It